About

@jt.ftm on Instagram

Hello and welcome to ftman.ly, an FTM transition blog!

My name is JT and I am a 30-year-old trans man. I currently reside in Pennsylvania, USA, where I work from home as a web developer. I am originally from Hawaii and am of Filipino-mix descent, although my only language is English. I am also an illustrator (I misguidedly drew this thing when I was younger) & a crafter and my works can be seen at drawgon.com & pocket-sushi.com, respectively.

I have been questioning my gender since I was five years old, but it wasn’t until I was in college did I learn of the term “transgender”. After almost a decade of sitting on the idea, researching, and being too afraid to talk to anyone about it, I finally summed up the courage to bring my identity out into the public (you can kinda thank recent U.S. government for that). I began hormone replacement therapy on February 14, 2017 (Valentine’s Day, whooo…) and have gradually started to come out to colleagues and extended family.

I have chosen to document my experience with this blog, partially because I don’t see many that are about East Asian trans men, and also because I want to share and inspire others like me. If you have any questions about me, this blog, or just want to say hi, you can reach out to me at hey@ftman.ly (I am also on Tumblr & Twitter if you would rather talk to me there). I hope you enjoy and learn from my story!

Disclaimer: other than the aforementioned social media, this website is not associated with any social media accounts using the handle “ftmanly”. I guess I didn’t know other people had the same idea.¯\_(ツ)_/¯

last modified on April 25th, 2017 at 06:17pm